Scroll to Content

Located on the Marennes Oleron oyster-farming basin since 1879, Chironfils company, in accordance with its experience and tradition, offers you a unique savoir-faire.

From the oyster spat collection on the Aix island parks to the farming and refining in Claires in Marennes and Oleron island, the production and the commercialisation are completed with a special expertise passed from generation to generation.

6 Generations of Enthusiasts

Chironfils oyster company values its distinctiveness on the Marennes Oleron basin.
Very few oyster farmers have this continued presence for so long.
Over the years, the company created by Mr CHIRON has successfully developed and diversified in order to always be adapted to the evolving market.

Experience & Tradition

La Seudre, Oleron island, Marennes and l’Eguille  
Spats are gently removed from the perfect collecting areas of Aix island. Nature gives its best there. The Chiron family possesses oyster parks and ‘Claires’ which are located between Marennes, Oleron island and Ré island ; Packaging and shipping processes are carried out in the original site of l’Eguille.

The traditional maturing technique in ‘Claires’ enables the company to produce the four certified qualities ‘Huitres Marennes Oleron’. The annual production is 250 tonnes and 90% of these oysters are maturing in our ‘Claires’. Most of the supplies come from our parks, and the rest are locally supplied by our historical partners.

A lot of Innovation

Longline oyster – a jewel in the ocean
Our company is the pioneer of the longline culture of oysters in the open sea. It has established a longline oyster farm off the coasts of the islands of Ré and Oléron. This unique know-how which has been patiently developed since 2002 has moved from experimental stage to production stage, thus could produce up to 150 tonnes a year. This innovative system requires traditional labour. Bags are suspended in permanently immersed cages in the open sea. This system never disrupts the natural cycle of oysters, and the quality of the oysters grown using this method is higher than the quality of those using the traditional method. After maturing in the ‘Claires’, our oysters become real treasures – special oysters prized for their rich flesh and character. They are the ‘Speciale Chironfils’ oysters resulting from the perfect combination of tradition and modernity.

Quality & Certification

Protected Geographical Status and two Red Labels for the Oysters of Marennes Oleron Since 1989 when they won the first Red Label for a maritime product (Fines de Claires Vertes), the oyster producers of Marennes Oleron have decided to fight for the quality of their product.

In 1999, a second Red Label is won for La Pousse en Claire, the top of Marennes Oleron oysters.In February 2009, the European Union registered Marennes Oleron oysters with the Protected Geographical Status Label, bringing to fruition twenty years of hard work in favour of high quality.

Finishing in « Claires », a true speciality of the Marennes Oleron basin, is now recognised at a European level and extends over 3,000 hectares between the Seudre river and the Island of Oleron.

3000 hectares

Refining in Claires is a real particularity of the Marennes Oleron basin recognized at the European level. The territory stretches on more than 3000 hectares between the Seudre river and the Oleron island.

The oysters have a special refined taste due to this unique technique.

The Oysters

All the Marennes Oleron Oysters are :


-Controlled by the Quality Department and a Certifying Organization
– Packaged by Chironfils
– Raised on the French Atantic Coast
-Refined in Claires on the Marennes Oleron basin

Scroll to Content

Implantée sur le bassin ostréicole de Marennes Oléron depuis 1879, l’entreprise Chironfils, avec son expérience et dans le respect de la tradition, vous offre un savoir-faire unique.

Depuis la récolte des naissains sur les parc de l’île d’Aix, l’élevage puis l’affinage en Claires sur Marennes et l’île d’Oléron, la production et la commercialisation sont réalisées avec une expertise transmise de génération en génération.

6 Générations d’Entousiaste 

l’Entreprise Chironfils cultive sa singularité sur le bassin de Marennes Oléron.
Très peu d’ostréiculteurs peuvent affirmer leur présence sans discontinuer depuis si longtemps.
Au fil des années l’entreprise créée par monsieur CHIRON a su se diversifier pour s’adapter à la demande d’un marché en constante évolution

Expérience et Tradition

La Seudre, l’île d’Oléron, Marennes et l’Eguille 
Les naissains se récoltent à l’abri du tumulte, sur les zones de captage idéales de l’île d’Aix. C’est là, que la nature donne le meilleur d’elle-même. La famille Chiron possède ses parcs à huîtres et ses Claires entre Marennes, l’île d’Oléron et l’île de Ré, le conditionnement et l’expédition sont réalisés sur le site historique de l’Eguille.

La technique traditionnelle d’affinage en Claire permet à Chironfils de produire les 4 qualités d’huîtres labélisées « Huîtres Marennes Oléron ».La production annuelle de Chironfils est de 250 tonnes et 90% de ce tonnage est affiné dans nos Claires. Plus de la moitié des approvisionnements sont fournis par les parcs de l’entreprise, l’autre moitié sont des partenaires locaux historiques.

Beaucoup d’innovation

Huître de filière, l’océan pour écrin
Pionnier de l’élevage d’huîtres sur filières en pleine mer, l’entreprise exploite un champ de filière au large de l’île de Ré et au large de l’île de Ré. Ce savoir-faire unique, patiemment mis au point depuis 2002, est passé du stade expérimental à une phase de production pouvant générer jusqu’à 150 tonnes par an. Ce procédé innovant est très faiblement mécanisé. Les poches d’huîtres sont suspendues dans des cages immergées en permanence en pleine mer. Il ne rompt jamais le cycle naturel de l’huître et la qualité des huîtres produites est souvent supérieure à celles issues de l’élevage traditionnel. Après un affinage dans nos Claires, c’est un vrai trésor que nous vous proposons. Une huîtres spéciale très charnue et pleine de caractère. Elle devient alors la Spéciale Chironfils, un mariage parfait entre avenir et tradition..

La Qualité et la Certification

Une IGP et deux LABEL ROUGE pour les huîtres MARENNES OLERONDès 1989 et l’obtention du 1er Label Rouge pour un produit de la mer (les Fines de Claires Vertes), les ostréiculteurs de Marennes Oléron ont choisi de se battre pour la qualité de leurs produits.

En 1999, un 2ème Label Rouge est obtenu pour la Pousse en Claire ; un produit unique de la gamme Chironfils Marennes Oléron.

Reconnu en 2009, l’enregistrement par l’Union Européenne de l’appellation « Huîtres Marennes Oléron » en Indication Géographique Protégée, constitue pour les ostréiculteurs l’aboutissement de 20 ans d’efforts continus en faveur de la qualité.

3000 hectares

L’affinage en claires, véritable spécificité du bassin de Marennes Oléron désormais reconnue au niveau européen, s’étend sur plus de 3000 hectares entre la Seudre et l’Ile d’Oléron.

L’huître bénéficie sur ce territoire unique au monde d’un savoir-faire transmis de génération en génération qui lui confère son fameux goût affiné.

Les Huîtres

Toutes les huîtres Marennes Oléron sont :

-Contrôlées par le Service de Qualité et un Organisme Certificateur
-Certifiées par un organisme certificateur indépendant
-Conditionnées par Chironfils
-Elevée sur le littoral atlantique français
-Mises en claires dans le bassin de Marennes Oléron